Fine Arts

The Performing Arts Department offers a complete four-year curriculum in the areas of theater arts, vocal and/or instrumental music. The department also provides a dance program as an extracurricular activity in the fall of each school year. All classes are performance based, including classes in technical and communication studies. Any two elective classes fulfill the fine arts requirement for graduation. All classes are one semester so a student may elect two in a year, thus completing a full eight semesters in performing arts if desired.

Faculty

Anne Sill MacDougall: Performing Arts Chair, Speech and Drama Teacher, Fall Play Technical Director, Spring Musical Technical Director, Festival of One Acts Producer, International Thespian Society Co-Director, Auditorium Coordinator  amacdougall@mhsmi.org or 248-893-3572 

Kathleen Sill: Fall Play Director, Spring Musical Director, Mercy Mimes Director, kesill@mhsmi.org or 248-893-3533

Isabelle Moore: Speech and Drama Teacher, International Thespian Society Co-Director, Forensics Coach, igmoore@mhsmi.org or 248-893-3554.

Rebekah Ferguson:  Vocal Teacher, Mercyaires Director, Spring Musical Vocal and Music Director and Conductor, Tri-M Music Honor Society Director rjferguson@mhsmi.org or 248-893-3573.

Ms. Marianne Corrigan: Orchestra Teacher, mhcorrigan@mhsmi.org.

Art Department Mission Statement

We, the students and staff of the Mercy High School Art Department, participate in God’s creation through our daily work in the visual arts. We value the gifts of our lives and talents. We observe, appreciate, depict and interpret nature and our surroundings. We hope to offer an extraordinary view of our everyday world to all who view our artwork. We value our community of artists, learning from one another and dedicating ourselves to do our best.

Art Department Teachers

Mrs. Carol Rife, carife@mhsmi.org, 248-893-3566
Ms. Susan Smith, smsmith@mhsmi.org, 248-893-3562